Be Thankful

So this month’s blog prompt is to reflect on a time when someone with a fairly different background from your own made you think about the world differently. However in my case, I have too many examples of this, I wish I wrote each one of them in my personal diary.

I guess I will talk about the time I feel like I am not thankful enough. I came to United States and NIU with the goal to get a bachelor degree and to seek for the experience that I would not get in Indonesia. Often, I feel so lazy to do my homework, study for exams or even going to classes in general. When the laziness in me kicking in, I would always remind myself of how lucky I am to get an education without having to worry about the fees and costs related to it. I have met some people at NIU who work more than one part-time job apart from taking classes to help them pay for their living cost as a student. They have no option but to wait until they get off from work and stay up late to do their homework or study for an exam. Therefore, I need to stop being lazy and to use my time wisely.

I never work while I am attending school until I came to the United States. I use scholarship and my family support to help me pay for my college education. I realize, compare to my peers, I always have the luxury of having an options about the activities that I want to do besides taking classes. I never have to think about fitting my after school activities in between classes and my job. It is the luxury that I never thought I have and it has been the reason to use my time more wisely as a college student. The luxury of having an options is also my reason to work even harder in classes and in life in general. I mean, how can my friend who take the same amount of classes as me and work two jobs can get 100 on an exam, while I am here who has more free time than that person got 60 on my exam??

Lastly, I want to share these two quotes that I got from the Internet to end my blog post for this month. Don’t forget to always be thankful for whatever you have. You never know, someone, somewhere out there is longing to have what you have. I hope you learn something from this post.

“Be humble, hungry, and always be the hardest worker in the room. Appreciate what you have before it becomes what you had”

Leave a comment